Today First Day for Same-Sex Marriages in Nation’s Capital

March 9, 2010

Gay couples in Washington DC are able to obtain marriage licenses beginning today.  In addition to the District of Columbia, five states allow gay marriage: Connecticut, Iowa, Massachusetts, New Hampshire and Vermont.  The DC law has harmed the ability of the Archdiocese of Washington to carry out its various ministries.