Kansas Senate Defeats Death Penalty Repeal

February 19, 2010

Legislation abolishing the death penalty in Kansas was voted down by the narrowest of margins in the Kansas Senate.  By a vote of 20-20, the Senate fell one vote short of what was needed to send the repeal legislation to the House of Representatives.  Michael Jackels, Bishop of Wichita, testified earlier in the year in support of the bill.  Senators voted as follows:

Yeas: Brungardt, Emler, Faust-Goudeau, Francisco, Haley, Hensley, Kelly, Kultala, Lee, McGinn, Morris, Owens, Pilcher-Cook, Reitz, Schmidt V, Steineger, Taddiken, Teichman, Umbarger, Vratil.

Nays: Abrams, Apple, Barnett, Brownlee, Bruce, Colyer, Donovan, Holland, Huelskamp, Huntington, Kelsey, Lynn, Marshall, Masterson, Ostmeyer, Petersen, Pyle, Schmidt D, Schodorf, Wagle.